Sofia Pyrounaki Concert

Sofia Pyrounaki Concert


J. S. Bach
Praeludio from lute suite BMV 997

William Walton

Bagatelle 1: Allegro

Bagatelle 2: Lento

Bagatelle 3: Alla Cubana

Isaac Albeniz

Nikita Koshkin



Agustin Barrios Mangore

La Catedral

1. Preludio "Saudade"

2. Andante Religioso

3. Allegro Solemne

Dimitris Fampas

Aria Melancoique

Tsamikos Dance

Roland Dyens
La Foule

This year we were treated to two fine concerts by the fabulous Greek guitarist Sofia Pyrounaki firstly our 2008 Christmas dinner and then again as the winner of the NESCGS Competition at the RSAMD earlier in the year.

Sofia Pyrounaki was born in Athens and initially studied guitar at the Municipal Conservatory of Glyfada with Irene Konsta. Continued study at the RSAMD led to her graduation in 2008 where she also obtained the first prize medal for distinguished performance.

Her powerful playing and gentle charm had all in the society completely under her spell. We will be keeping an eye on young Sofia and hope she remembers us when she reaches the dizzy heights we expect of her. 

Sofia presently studies with Allan Neave at the RSAMD on the postgraduate course as a recipient of the Greek Government's, State Scholarship for International Studies. 

We all look forward to the next time we get to hear her play.